Meeting May 9, 2024

REGIONAL HOMELAND SECURITY OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE (RHSOC) SCOCOG CONFERENCE ROOM To join the meeting please call (518) 992-1210 and enter 729810

RHSOC members present:

Sector	Primary	Present	Alternate	Present
Mayor o	or City Administrator			
	Beverly Hicks (Willow Springs)	Х	Brent Collins (Thayer)	
County	Commissioner			
-	Brad Loveless (Douglas County)		Terry Newton (Ozark County)	
Private	Industry/Public Utility			
	Myles Smith (Howell-Oregon Electric)		Dustin Madden (Thayer)	
Emerge	ncy Medical Service			
	Ken McKenzie (Thayer)		Vacant	
#911				
	Curtis Ledbetter (Ozark County)	Х	Vacant	
Directo	r of Emergency Management			
	Stephen Monticelli (West Plains)	X	Mike Coldiron (Howell County)	
Chief of	• • •			
	Danny Bledsoe (Mountain Grove)	Х	Brian Bunch (West Plains)	Х
County	· · · · ·		,, ,,	
-	Chris Degase (Douglas County)		Cass Martin (Ozark County)	Х
Chief of	Fire			
	Vacant		Robbie Smith (Texas County)	
County	Health			
	Michelle Walker (Carter County)		Chris Gilliam (Howell County)	
	(phone)	X		X
Homela	nd Security Response Team			
	Kurt Wilbanks (West Plains)		Chris Sterner (West Plains)	X
City of 0	County Public Works			
	Stacey Monter (Cabool)		Shayne Eades (West Plains)	
Agricult	ural Sector			
	Joe Marsillo (Texas County)	X	Vacant	
Volunte	er Sector			
	Michael Schiff (Red Cross)		Melissa Forester (Region G K-9)	X
Educati	on Sector			
	Tonya Woods (Thayer)		Melonie Bunn (Richards)	
GIS				
	Vacant		David Jens (Howell County)	
	Kristin Kayser	OHS		
	Chelsey Call	OHS		
	Frank Vogel	Summersvi		
	Jeff Holman	Wright Cou		
	Kent Edge	SEMA		
	John Bryan	Guest		
	Mike Burgess	Region G K	-9	

SCOCOG Staff Present:		
Melanie Barnett	Community Development Specialist	
Angie Ball	Communications and Marketing Coordinator	
Trent Courtney	Executive Director	

The meeting was called to order at 1:10 p.m.

The roll of voting members was taken and there was a quorum.

New Business

Chair and Vice-Chair Elections

Melanie said that we need to take nominations for Chair and Vice-Chair to finish the current term until October. Melanie sent a list over email of who would be eligible. Chris Gilliam asked if anyone wanted the Chair position. Motion to nominate Curtis Ledbetter for the interim Chair position was made by Joe Marsillo and seconded by Melissa Forester. Roll call vote is as follows:

Beverly Hicks: yea Curtis Ledbetter: yea Stephen Monticelli: yea Danny Bledsoe: yea Cass Martin: yea Chris Gilliam: yea Chris Sterner: yea Joe Marsillo: yea Melissa Forester: yea

Nine yea votes, zero nay votes, zero abstained. The motion carried.

At this time, Melanie turned the meeting over to Curtis Ledbetter.

Curtis asked for a vote on the Vice-Chair position. Motion to nominate Kurt Wilbanks for the interim Vice-Chair position was made by Beverly Hicks and seconded by Chris Gilliam. Roll call vote is as follows:

Beverly Hicks: yea Curtis Ledbetter: yea Stephen Monticelli: yea Danny Bledsoe: yea Cass Martin: yea Michelle Walker: yea Chris Sterner: yea Joe Marsillo: yea Melissa Forester: yea Nine yea votes, zero nay votes, zero abstained. The motion carried.

Other Vacant Sector Elections

Curtis stated that the #911 sector primary position is open. Motion to nominate Jeff Holman for the interim #911 sector primary position was made by Danny Bledsoe and seconded by Cass Martin. Motion carried with all in favor. The alternate is vacant.

Curtis stated that the Chief of Fire sector primary position is open. Motion to move Robbie Smith to interim Chief of Fire sector primary position was made by Brian Bunch and seconded by Chris Sterner. Motion carried with all in favor. The alternate is vacant.

Curtis stated that the Agriculture sector alternate position is open. Motion to nominate John Bryan for the interim Agriculture sector alternate position was made by Joe Marsillo and seconded by Chris Gilliam. Motion carried with all in favor.

Curtis said that the GIS Primary sector is also open. Motion to move David Jens to interim GIS sector primary position was made by Chris Gilliam and seconded by Brian Bunch. Motion carried with all in favor. The alternate position is vacant.

Melanie added that these votes today are effective until October.

FYI and Other Items

Melanie said that in regard to the new FY23 grants, the Region G K-9 (grant #'s 2023-07 and 2023-09) was awarded crates and pads. Those came in under budget. Melanie asked that those present vote to move the leftover money from one line item to another. Motion to move funds from one line item to another for the Region G K-9 grants was made by Stephen Monticelli and seconded by Beverly Hicks. Roll call vote is as follows:

Beverly Hicks: yea Curtis Ledbetter: yea Stephen Monticelli: yea Danny Bledsoe: yea Cass Martin: yea Chris Gilliam: yea Chris Sterner: yea Joe Marsillo: abstain Melissa Forester: yea

Eight yea votes, zero nay votes, one abstained. The motion carried.

Melanie also said that in regard to the thermal cameras purchased for the Region G K-9 (grant #2023-06), they were able to purchase five instead of four. Motion to approve

the purchase was made by Chris Sterner and seconded by Stephen Monticelli. Roll call vote is as follows:

Beverly Hicks: yea Curtis Ledbetter: yea Stephen Monticelli: yea Danny Bledsoe: yea Cass Martin: yea Chris Gilliam: yea Chris Sterner: yea Joe Marsillo: abstain Melissa Forester: yea

Eight yea votes, zero nay votes, one abstained. The motion carried.

Melanie added that the regionalization grant opened Monday and those will close on June 14, 2024 at 5:00.

The next quarterly meeting date is August 8, 2024 at SCOCOG at 1:00 p.m., with the option to call in for guests only.

Beverly Hicks made a motion to adjourn, and the motion was seconded by Jeff Holman. Motion carried, and the meeting was adjourned at 1:24 p.m.

Approved for content Curtis Ledbetter